Gregorio Lavilla extended his championship lead in the first Bennetts British Superbike race by taking the lead from Shane Byrne in the final stages of the race.

Haslam had taken the lead from the start and had pulled out an advantage by lap eight but was reeled in by Lavilla and the flying Rizla Suzukis of Shane Byrne and James Haydon. Lavilla took the lead on lap nine, taking the advantage from Haslam at Lodge, but he was to come under pressure from Byrne in the later laps.

Byrne, who had been on a drip all morning to try and overcome a virus, had been sitting third during the first part of the race and passed teammate Haydon at Lodge on lap four. It was not long before he split the two leading Airwaves Ducatis of Lavilla and Haslam, then on lap 12 Shakey forced his way pass Lavilla at Cascades to take the lead.

Byrne held onto the lead until lap 14 when Lavilla passed him on the inside at Shell Oils corner, and from that point was unable to get close enough to try and retake the lead. On the same lap James Haydon passed Haslam at Lodge, but by the time the pair passed the line Haslam had reclaimed the third spot.

Gregorio Lavilla went on to take his fifth win of the season ahead of Shane Byrne, who took his first podium in BSB since 2003. Haslam managed to hold off James Haydon to take the final spot on the podium.

The battle in the group behind saw the leading HM Plant Honda of Karl Harris battle through from almost the back of the pack after he touched the Red Bull Honda of Jonathan Rea on the exit of Old Hall to take fifth.

Ryuichi Kiyonari took the second HM Plant Honda to sixth place, after a tumble in warm up this morning, with Tommy Hill finishing close behind in seventh.

Bennetts British Superbike Race One Result

1 Gregorio Lavilla (Airwaves Ducati)
2 Shane Byrne (Rizla Suzuki)
3 Leon Haslam (Airwaves Ducati)
4 James Haydon (Rizla Suzuki)
5 Karl Harris (HM Plant Honda)
6 Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda)
7 Tommy Hill (Virgin Mobile Yamaha)
8 Jonathan Rea (Red Bull Honda)
9 Michael Rutter (Stobart Motorsport Honda)
10 Glen Richards (Hydrex Honda)

Speak Your Mind